Australia travalogue
September 4 - October 2, 1998

This is the overview of all pictures in the travalogues. Each tumbnail is linked with the real picture. Click the date to read the travalogue of that day. There is also a page with an overview of this trip.



Friday 4 September 1998 -- Brussels - Amsterdam - Bangkok
  Boarding in Amsterdam, de start of our trip 'down-under'.

Saturday 5 September 1998 -- Bangkok - Bali - Darwin
  Killing time in Denpensar.
  Our first night in Australia (in the airport building).

Sunday 6 September 1998 -- Darwin
  Fish-feeding.
  Sunset on Mindil Beach.

Monday 7 September 1998 -- Darwin - Kakadu
  Feeding croc's in a 'Crocodile farm'.
  The bridge has fallen down, we need te take the ferry.
  Sunset at 'Ubirr Rock'.

Tuesday 8 September 1998 -- Kakadu: Jabiru - Cooinda
  Education at 'Nourlangie Rock'.
  Searching the road to 'Gubara pools'.

Wednesday 9 September 1998 -- Cooinda - Katherine Gorge
  Birdwatchin on 'Yellow River'.
  Using 'dirt-roads' to reach Gunlom falls.
  Great view from the to of the waterfall.

Thursday 10 September 1998 -- Katherine Gorge - Katherine - Mataranka
  Pat's Lookout near the end of the first gorge.
  Hard to paddle up the rapids...

Friday 11 September 1998 -- Mataranka - Tennant Creek
  Good times in the hot-water-pools.
  Miles andmiles to Alice Spring.
  And in between a stop at the gas station.

Saturday 12 September 1998 -- Tennant Creek - Barrow Creek - Alice Springs
  The 'small' rocks of Devils Marbles.
  Didjeridoo lesson.

Sunday 13 September 1998 -- Alice Springs - Yulara
  Balloon departure before sunrise.
  Touchdown...
  ... and packing in.
  Arrival at Ayers Rock...
  ... and the climb to the top.

Monday 14 September 1998 -- Yulara - The Olga's - Yulara
  View on Kata Tjuta (The Olga's).
  Sunset by Ayers Rock.

Tuesday 15 September 1998 -- Yulara - Alice Springs
  Playing cards during the long ride to Alice Springs.

Wednesday 16 September 1998 -- Alice Springs - Glen Helen - Alice Springs
  Simpson's Gap.
  Ormiston Gorge.

Thursday 17 September 1998 -- Alice Springs - Cairns - Yorkey's Knob
  Picture 1.
  And at night we need to unload the car.

Friday 18 September 1998 -- Yorkey's Knob - Mossman - Daintree - Cape Tribulation - Cooktown
  Walk on Cape Tribulation.
  4WD through the waters.
  Ending the day by a small fire, until it's starts raining.

Saturday 19 September 1998 -- Cooktown - Lakeland - Kuranda
  Firehouse near Cooktown.

Sunday 20 September 1998 -- Kuranda - Cairns
  Sunday... shopping day.
  Downhill by train along a steep railway.

Monday 21 September 1998 -- Cairns, diving near Paradise Reef
  Jumping into the water...
  ... to admire the coral reef.
  Besides the coral, there is also ...
  ...a lot of fish.

Tuesday 22 September 1998 -- Cairns - Atherton - Millaa Millaa - Innisfall - Townsville
  Curtain Fig Tree.
  Millstream falls (widest of Australia).

Wednesday 23 September 1998 -- Townsville - Airlie Beach
  Typical Australian animals: kangaroe,...
  ..., the koala, ...
  ... and the wombat.

Thursday 24 September 1998 -- Whitsunday Island
  The crue members.
  Just like advertising folders, ...
  ... this must be the ultimate vacation photo.

Friday 25 September 1998 -- Whitsunday: sailing
  Snorkelen again on the Reef.
  By accident we drop into a group of whales.

Saturday 26 September 1998 -- Whitsunday: saling - Airlie Beach - Mackay
  First time sailing without the engine running.

Sunday 27 September 1998 -- Mackay - Sydney - Penrith

Monday 28 September 1998 -- Penrith - Katoomba - Liverpool - Camden
  The real Blue Montains.
  Beaumont-falls.

Tuesday 29 September 1998 -- Camden - Sydney
  Gledswood, one of the oldest scheep farms.
  And this is how they shave them.

Wednesday 30 September 1998 -- Sydney
  The Rocks, the best known part of Sydney.
  Way to Manly Beach.

Thursday 1 October 1998 -- Sydney
  View from the top of Point Tower.
  Centre Point Tower and monorail.

Friday 2 October 1998 -- Sydney - Bali - Singapore
  The last view on Australia, for now...


[Overview other trips] [Overview Australia] [Home]